Guilty Pleasures – Drop Dead Gorgeous

One of the most under appreciated black comedies, from 1999 Drop Dead Gorgeous is a both a satire that is filmed in a mocumentary style and outrageously offensive over the top jokes, that follows the contestants in a high school beauty pageant.  drop_dead_gorgeous

Apparently no one on the internet likes it, am I the only one who finds it funny?

Not only that,I laugh every time I watch it and it is one of my most quoted movies, even though no one knows what I’m talking about when I shout ‘The swan ate my baby!’ or ‘close up shop hank’ when I see someone with their flies open. And no one even knows who I’m talking about when I say ‘ Shes skinny Amber not deaf.’ And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. I can’t get near a scallop without thinking about the last time it cleaned its house.Drop-Dead-Gorgeous (1)

The story focuses on our hero, Amber Atkins, and her mother played by Kristen Dunst and Ellen Barkin and our villan, Becky Leeman, and her mother played by Denise Richards and Kirstie Alley. Amber is innocent, hard working and sweet whereas Becky is rich.

kirsten dunst ddg denise richards ddg

The entire pageant contestants get a look in too. Each one has an obsession that is maintained in their personality and their pagent costumes and talent routine. There is one girl who likes dogs, one who likes sign language, one who is a bit of a slapper, one who wants to be an actress, one who giggles, one who is an (adopted) Asian-American. These little quirks help give all the contestants a bit of personality and a lot more jokes.

ddg

Two of the other contestants are played by Brittany Murphy and Amy Adams, in her film debut.Drop-Dead-Gorgeous-amy-adams

It is set in the midwest, so they all have funny accents. I have no idea if people from Minnesota actually talk like that but it sounds amusing what ever they say, a bit like a brummie talking about carrots, its just funny.

The pageant itself is fun, the physical fitness routine and don’t cry out out are my favourites from this sequence. Also when was the last time you saw a tap dancing routine in a movie?Drop_Dead_Gorgeous physical fitness

Plus it passes the Bechdel test easily.

If you like your comedy dark, I highly recommend it. Its most smartest.

One thought on “Guilty Pleasures – Drop Dead Gorgeous

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑